Canada’s New Cabinet Ministers: A call to renew NonProfit Lobbying

The new federal cabinet: an important factor in nonprofit lobbyingMay 20, 2011; Mark Buzan's PR and Public Affairs Spot on the Web: Earlier this week, Prime Minister Harper announced the cabinet of the 41st Parliament following the election of last month.  If you read my last posting on what the election meant for the lobbying advocacy of nonprofit organisations and associations, Wednesday's announcement of the new cabinet should also provide an important heads up to get your government relations and relationship development strategies in place.  

The new slate of legislators now occupying the highest positions in the land number 33.  In some areas, there were changes and in other places, some individuals stayed in their same positions.  In sum, here's the list:

  1. Diane Finley: Human Resources and Skills Development
  2. Bev Oda: International Co-operation
  3. John Baird: Foreign Affairs
  4. Tony Clement: President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
  5. Jim Flaherty: Finance
  6. Peter Van Loan: Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  7. Jason Kenney: Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism
  8. Gerry Ritz: Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board
  9. Christian Paradis: Industry and Minister of State (Agriculture)
  10. James Moore: Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
  11. Denis Lebel: Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
  12. Leona Aglukkaq: Health and Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
  13. Keith Ashfield: Fisheries and Oceans and Minister for the Atlantic Gateway
  14. Peter Kent: Environment
  15. Lisa Raitt: Labour
  16. Gail Shea: National Revenue
  17. John Duncan: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
  18. Steven Blaney: Veterans Affairs
  19. Edward Fast: International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway
  20. Joe Oliver: Natural Resources
  21. Peter Penashue: Intergovernmental Affairs and President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada
  22. Julian Fantino: Associate Minister of National Defence
  23. Bernard Valcourt: Minister of State (Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency)
  24. Gordon O'Connor: Minister of State and Chief Government Whip
  25. Maxime Bernier: Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism)
  26. Diane Ablonczy: Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs)
  27. Lynne Yelich: Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification)
  28. Steven Fletcher: Minister of State (Transport)
  29. Gary Goodyear: Minister of State (Science and Technology) (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario)
  30. Ted Menzies: Minister of State (Finance)
  31. Tim Uppal: Minister of State (Democratic Reform)
  32. Alice Wong: Minister of State (Seniors)
  33. Bal Gosal: Minister of State (Sport)

So what impact will this have on your association?  Which legislators, Members of Parliament, Senators, and policy makers will you need to relate with in your government relations and stakeholder relations strategy?



Mark Buzan is Principal and Chief Magnifying Officer of Action Strategies, a full service government relations, lobbying, and relationship building firm with legislators for nonprofit organisations and associations.

Magnify your message - Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Act now and receive a FREE action plan that will magnify your message, motivate your membership, and build the movement your non-profit organisation needs!

Related posts:

  1. Well, here they are…the new cabinet!
  2. The Low Down on the Federal Cabinet Shuffle
  3. Canada’s New Cabinet…Who’s in it?
  4. Election 2011: What does it mean for NonProfit Lobbying?
  5. Reconnecting with Government Officials and Lobbying Contacts for Non-Profit Organizations

Leave a Reply

 Subscribe to Our Newsletter 

This entry was posted under associations, Federal Cabinet, Government Relations, GR, grassroots lobbying, Lobbying, lobbying opportunities, non-profit associations, Non-profits, Parliament. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Share |

Magnify your Message

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Act now and receive a FREE action plan to build the movement your non-profit organisation needs!

Public Relations Accredited

Mark Buzan and Action Strategies are Accredited in Public Relations

CPRS Accreditation (APR) is a respected measure of professional experience in the field of public relations. Mark Buzan and Action Strategies are Accredited in Public Relations and proud supporters of the Canadian Public Relations Society.

View in: Mobile | Standard